Officers and Executive Board

Officers Elected for 2021-2022 Year

officers 2021

Newly elected members of the HCCTDW Board met on Tuesday, June 29 to approve the contract for monthly luncheon meetings at the Kroc Center. Pictured are Stephanie Ertel, President; Julie Sentell, Treasurer; Lynette Wedig, Vice President and Linda Stegall, Secretary. Also serving on the board are Coral Adema, At-Large Member for Immigration Concerns; Mary Ellen Summerlin, Legislative Chair; Jeannie Berger, Public Relations Chair and Sylvia Ostos, Past President.

President, Stephanie Ertel


Stephanie Ertel is a retired lawyer who grew up in Kerrville, and returned in 2006 after a legal career in Dallas. Stephanie and her husband, Rick, are very concerned about environmental issues and immigration policy that affects asylum-seekers.

Stephanie and Rick live in Mountain Home on sixty acres in a home that depends on rainwater and solar energy. An active Democrat for all her adult life, Stephanie was a candidate for District 53 State Representative in 2016 and 2018. Stephanie has served on the board of HCCTDW as President (2009-2011), Vice President (2008-2009 and 2020-2021), Public Relations Chair and Legislative Chair.

Vice President, Lynette Wedig


Lynette and her husband Tony retired to Kerrville in 2019 to be closer to grandchildren. She was born and raised in South Texas, lived in San Antonio, and moved to New Mexico when her children attended Texas Tech University. Lynette is active in the Kerr County Democratic Party as the Precinct Chair for Precinct 220.

Lynette is a retired Texas public and private school math teacher and a New Mexico Community College Professor, who was always an active member of the American Federation of Teachers. Prior to moving to Kerrville, Lynette’s community involvement included service on numerous community boards (zoning and planning, chamber of commerce, hunger and homelessness coalitions, church, and the arts) and in positions related to her impressive keyboard skills, as musical director and keyboardist at church, for a musical theater, and as a performer in several bands and combos.

Secretary, Linda Stegall


Linda was born in Beaumont, Texas but moved to Louisiana for a few years, then later moved to Houston, where she went through grade school. She graduated from the University of Houston with a teaching degree and taught special education for twenty-six years.

Linda’s husband is a retired special education teaches. Her son is a computer specialist and is married with three sons and lives in Dallas. Her daughter is a lawyer teaching English to law students in France. She lives in Rully, France and is married to a French wine salesman and has three teenage children.

During the twenty-two years they have lived in Kerrville, they have traveled a lot, visiting their daughter in France many times and have loved the sights in Paris. They love living in Kerrville and the hill country. Linda is on the board of American Association of University Women, Delta Kappa Gamma, and has joined four book groups. It is good to stay busy and enjoy life to the fullest. The communication committee has been fun to work on for Texas Democratic Women.

Treasurer, Julie Sentell


Julie moved to Kerrville at the end of August 2011 when she retired from Western Texas College in Snyder as director of international student services, one of several positions she held there. She was born and raised in Amarillo and lived in Austin and Snyder prior to her move to Kerrville.

Julie has participated in community activities wherever she lived, serving on non-profit boards, and volunteering with community service organizations. Since moving to Kerrville, she has shared her time with several local non-profits, including the Texas Heritage Music Foundation, the Hill Country Vocal Arts Society, the League of Women Voters-Hill Country Texas, Schreiner University, and Kerr Konnect. She has also served the Hill Country Chapter-Texas Democratic Women as Treasurer (2020-2021) and Newsletter Editor (2014-2016).

Contact Information for Officers (2021-2022)

President: Stephanie Ertel –
Vice President: Lynette Wedig –
Secretary: Linda Stegall –
Treasurer: Julie Sentell –

Standing Committee Chairs:

Communications:  Judy Lundquist –


Membership:  Barbara Young –

Parliamentarian & Bylaws:  Barbara Wise –

Public Relations & Newsletter:  Jeannie Berger –


The board meets on the last Tuesday of the month at 1 p.m. at the Doyle School Community Center, 110 W. Barnett Street, Kerrville. Anyone interested is welcome to attend HCTDW Board