News and Events

Upcoming Events

TDW 2020 State Convention – Standing Tall, Stepping Up!

February 7 – 8, 2020 Texas Democratic Women will hold its 2020 Convention in Austin, Texas at the Wyndham Garden Hotel and Conference Center February 7-9. The theme is “Standing Tall, Stepping Up!” Val Ostarch, Stephanie Ertel and Sylvia Ostos will be attending.

The cost for attending the Saturday session is $70. The Star Award Luncheon is $35 and the Reception & Gala Award Dinner is $65. Registration will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday.

There will be a vote to revise the TDW Bylaws. Kim Olson, Democratic candidate for Texas Agriculture Commissioner in 2018 will be the speaker at the luncheon. The Honorable Sarah Weddington will be the speaker for the Gala. This will also be a good time to meet the candidates running for many of the state offices in our area as well as those running for the United States Senate. If you need more information contact Sylvia Ostos at 830-792-5210

For more information go and click on the 2020 Convention tab at the top of the home page, or write

   Kerr County Democratic Party

Kerr County Democratic Party Monthly Social & General Meeting

January 22, 4:30 – 6:30 p.m., Kerr County Democratic Headquarters, 814 Main Street, Kerrville. Social hour from 4:30-5:30 and general meeting from 5:30-6:30. BYOB and a hearty appetizer to share.

January 26, 11:30 a.m. – Schreiner University Dining Hall, 2100 Memorial Blvd, Kerrville
Join us at 11:30 a.m, and grab the BIG table. Be sure to wear BLUE so that you can spot your fellow Democrats.

Go to to learn about Democratic activities in Kerr County.

To receive emails from the  Kerr County Democratic Party, email Barbara Veldhuizen at and ask her to add you to her list.

Gillespie County Democrats

GCDA meets the 3rd Wednesday of every month, 6:30 p.m. at the Gillespie County Law Enforcement Center, 1601 Main, Fredericksburg.

For infomation, go to

Democratic Women of Comal County

Join DWCC for a monthly meeting:

2nd Friday of every month, 10:30 a.m.-noon, Tye Preston Memorial Library, Canyon Lake

3rd Monday of every month, 6:30-7:30 p.m., New Braunfels Public Library, New Braunfels

3rd Wednesday of every month, 6:30-7:30 p.m., Mammen Family Public Library, Bulverde

Visit for more information. 

 Medina County Democrats

Medina County Democrats meet the third Tuesday of each month. The next meeting is Tuesday, December 17, 6 p.m. at Braden Keller Center in Castroville.

*   *   *   *   *

Find HCTDW on Facebook

HCTDW invites members to “like” our Facebook page:

Texas Democratic Women of the Hill Country.



Kerr County Democrats:

*   *   *   *   *


If you have information for the newsletter or know someone who would like to receive it, please write Jeannie Berger at You are welcome to forward this newsletter to anyone who would be interested.